search logo

Athletic health

Athletic trainers (ATs) render service or treatment to student-athletes, under the direction of or in collaboration with a the KS Medical Director, team physician(s), and/or the student’s private physician(s), in accordance with their education, training and the state's statutes, rules and regulations. Any injury or illness requiring treatment beyond the scope of athletic training will be referred to the student’s physician or the nearest emergency care facility.

As a part of the health care team, services provided by athletic trainers include primary care, injury and illness prevention, wellness promotion and education, emergent care, examination and clinical diagnosis, therapeutic intervention and rehabilitation of injuries and medical conditions. At KS, ATs also collaborate with the KS Health Services staff, Behavioral Health Specialists, and Student Support Teams.

To participate in a sport, a student-athlete must have a physical exam completed at least every 13 months (i.e. every 12 months with a one month grace period). When your child has their well-child physical examination throughout the year, it’s a recommended good practice to have the healthcare provider complete the KS Physical Evaluation form. Parents can then submit the form to KS through the parent portal. Through the parent portal, you can view the date of the last physical exam we have on record. A student-athlete must also have health insurance in order to participate.

For additional information, please see your campus’ Student and Parent Handbook.

Athletic health staff

Cynthia Clivio
Cynthia Clivio

Athletic Health Manager
cyclivio@ksbe.edu
(808) 842-8503

KS Hawai‘i
Zeny Eakins
Zeny Eakins

Athletic Healthcare Campus Supervisor
zeakins@ksbe.edu
(808) 982-0743

Jose Saucedo
Jose Saucedo

Athletic Trainer
josauced@ksbe.edu
(808) 982-0632

Amy Shirk
Amy Shirk

Athletic Trainer
amshirk@ksbe.edu
(808) 982-0753

KS Kāpalama
Jared Nihi
Jared Nihi

Lead Athletic Trainer
janihi@ksbe.edu
(808) 842-8503

Jill Andres
Jill Andres

Athletic Trainer
jiandres@ksbe.edu
(808) 842-8503

Ben Joven
Ben Joven

Athletic Trainer
bijoven@ksbe.edu
(808) 842-8503

Reid Takano
Reid Takano

Athletic Trainer
retakano@ksbe.edu
(808) 842-8503

KS Maui
Alika Asing
Alika Asing

Campus Supervisor
alasing@ksbe.edu
(808) 572-4232

Erin Harkleroad
Erin Harkleroad

Athletic Trainer
erharkleroad@ksbe.edu
(808) 572-4234

Charles Roggow
Charles Roggow

Athletic Trainer
chroggow@ksbe.edu
(808) 573-7108


Kawaiaha‘o Plaza

567 South King St
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 523-6200

KS Hawai‘i

16-716 Volcano Rd
Kea‘au, HI 96749
(808) 982-0000

KS Kapālama

1887 Makuakāne St
Honolulu, HI 96817
(808) 842-8211

KS Maui

275 ‘A‘apueo Pkwy
Pukalani, HI 96768
(808) 572-3100